How do you create your logo? Part2

Welcome back to the second part of the "How to create a logo" article. If you haven't read the first part you'll need to find it here

So here's a more in-depth look at this first article. You're going to learn more about typefaces and emotions.

WHAT DO THE DIFFERENT TYPEFACES MEAN?

In the words of Wikipediatypography refers to the various typesetting and printing processes using raised characters and shapes, as well as the art of using different types of characters to make language legible, attractive and intelligible.. In fact, these are 3 of the main factors we take into account during our meetings with our customers.

First of all, this image will help you understand the differences between typefaces:

However, I can assure you that you don't need to know all these technical words in detail - I know you don't have the time! So I suggest you read on, which focuses more on the psychological aspect of each typeface.

Each typeface doesn't go with any other. Having the right combination will allow you to create depth in your identity (this rule also applies to all your presentation materials and designs, thank me later for the tip). You'll find right here a link to a very good site that will spare you any errors of taste. You'll also need this website which lets you download your favourite typefaces.

THE IMPORTANCE OF EMOTIONS

Once you've chosen your colours, shapes and typeface, you'll start to get a good first look at your future logo. However, if you stop here you'll probably miss the best part: the emotions. These days we don't buy products the way we used to. Customers are (subconsciously) looking for a way to express themselves. relationship with the brand. They no longer buy a product for its features alone, but also for what the brand represents and conveys.

That's why you need to concentrate all the more on your logo. Try to play on one of the 6 emotions recognised by specialists as the strongest: joy, pride, confidence, curiosity, fear and guilt.

For example:

Desigual, a leading ready-to-wear brand, has created a logo that we believe represents many of these emotions very well. Thanks to the very organic shapes that seem to form an explosion of colours, Desigual hopes to arouse the curiosity of its customers. The clarity of these same colours is an obvious invitation to a feeling of joy and celebration.

Finally, the typography, which reverses at times, shows that Desigual doesn't hesitate to go against the grain and impose its sense of pride with a very bold typeface. In this excellent example, we can see that all these elements form a coherent whole that is entirely in keeping with the brand.

YOUR LOGO IS FINISHED!

Now is the time to enjoy your logo and display it everywhere. But don't forget that time flies! You owe it to yourself to be flexible when you're faced with a new project. a constantly changing environment. As explained in the previous article (#1) the meaning of colours, shapes and typefaces can change from one day to the next depending on events. Don't hesitate to change/modernise your logo when you feel it's time. Don't be shy! Your customers will be surprised in a good way and will talk about you during the coffee break! It's good and positive for them to see that your business is evolving and following trends. Make your logo evolve in a smart way, follow your business. strategy already in place and remain in line with your your brand image and values.

For example:

Paypal, which offers online payment methods, has not only evolved its logo in line with its environment and current trends, but also in line with its own history. Back in 1999, very few people were using this service. The Internet was only two years old, so as the company has grown in importance, it has also become more confident in its approach to its logo, with fuller letters, brighter colours and an overall look more suited to a leading company.

Back to the blog

How do you create your logo? Part1

Hello readers!

Today I'm revealing all the secrets of logo design. It's a mission of the utmost precision and the end result has to be perfect! That's why every aspect has to be thought through beforehand. From the choice of colours, from forms and emotion desired. We'll finish with a podcast on the subject. Sophie Bodineau, founder and graphic designer at What'zhat design Agency, will be analysing 3 logos for us.

Now to the real subject.

THE MEANING OF COLOURS

Colour is what is noticed first, it will be connected to your brand and visible on all your products. communication media.

Every colour has a meaning, an unconscious connection in people's minds (especially in Western countries). That's why it's so important to think about your company's key words.

- Red represents paradoxeslove/anger, bravery/danger, zeal/forbidding

- Green represents renewal, growth, hope, nature and luck

- Yellow represents the lightego, knowledge, friendship and joy

- Blue represents the securitystability, loyalty, wisdom, trust and science

- Pink represents the tendernessromanticism, femininity and beauty

- Orange represents the communication, dynamism, enthusiasm and fun

- Black represents the powerthe mysteryelegancesimplicity and rigour

Please note! Each psychological association When it comes to colours, attitudes can change rapidly, depending on culture, current events, time, personal history and trends.

For more information, please visit these websites: code-couleur.com and Pantone.

THE MEANING OF SHAPES

If you use shapes in your logo (sometimes brands just use typography), this will have an impact on the perception of values and of your brand. your brand identity. For reach your target you need to know how to recognise the brain's unconscious associations with certain shapes.

Here are the most common and what they mean to most people:

- Rounded shapes welcoming, warm

- Square and rectangular shapes : serious, stable and balanced

- Triangular shapes power, hard

- Organic shapes flexibility, naturalness

- Spiral shapes : introspection, inspiration and continuity

- Vertical lines : hierarchical, superior and strong

- Horizontal lines : communication, calm and serene

The advice is to use shapes sparingly, as overdoing them can complicate understanding.. A good logo is clear and legible. You can also create shapes without actually adding them, using the positive/negative shapes technique, a few of which are described below. examples here.

AN INTELLIGENT MIX

For a logo, anything is possible, any shape and any colour, but a graphic designer will always keep in mind the company's main message and key words. The result is often a coherent mix. If your customer absolutely wants a triangle, with sharp angles, but is selling supplies for newborn babies, you can soften the whole thing by adding a very light blue, for example. It's all a question of balance.

THE PODCAST

As promised, here's a podcast on the theory of choosing colours and shapes.

Plus, an analysis of 3 logos, above, created by the What'zhat team:

Back to the blog

The Lion King (2019)

ANIMATED FILM, LIVE-ACTION OR MOTION CAPTURE?

In recent years, the great classics of the 2019 version of Disney Tim Burton's 'Dumbo', 'Aladdin' still available in some cinemas and 'The Jungle Book', a digital feat. Here's how Disney decided to renew its image reworking all these great animated classics into computer-generated films.

The distinction between animated film, live-action and motion capture is becoming increasingly clear. Neel Sethi, for example, was the only real actor in The Jungle Book, interacting with animals made entirely of plastic. computer-generated images. But it was with The Lion King that the Fairview Entertainment Studios are once again pushing back the boundaries with a hyper-realistic film created entirely on computer.

In an interview, Jon Favreau, chief producer of The Lion King, admitted that he didn't know whether it was an animated film or a live-action movie, and even added that it was neither. He wanted to give us images worthy of a wildlife report of the BBC and bears no resemblance to the visual effects made on computers, even though the animals talk and behave like humans. The trailer is available here :

None of the scenes in the film were shot on location. Jon Favreau did location scouting in Kenya, Africa, collecting images of natural landscapes so that they can be used as a source of artistic inspiration. Once in the can, these live-action shots were undoubtedly digitally retouchedto keep up with graphic style from the rest of the scenes. But don't be fooled by the fact that this isn't performance capture or motion capture either.

In fact, the actors and artists recruited only lent their voices James Earl Jones as Mufasa, Donald Glover as Simba, Beyoncé Knowles as Nala... A large cast, adding to the impatience of fans. What's more, none of the animals were actually filmed, the artistic team and design was inspired by nature to make the animals look as real as possible. Some images from backstage available here, English subtitles available :

So it was with great anticipation that we awaited the 19 July so you can finally appreciate the results of all the efforts of the design teams! In the meantime, we offer you 3 previously unpublished facts about the cartoon of our childhood:

  1. The Lion King was originally going to be called "The King of the Jungle" until the team realised that lions don't live in the jungle...
  2. Simba, Sarabi, Rafiki and Pumbaa are Swahili words. They mean lion, mirage, friend and stupid.
  3. For the scene involving Scar and the hyenas, Disney took inspiration from Nazi photos. Who would have thought!

What about you? Do you have anything you've never heard before about The Lion King? Tell us all about it in the comments.

Product development : What are the key stages?

Designing a new product is good, but designing it well is even better! That's why taking the time to design your new product is essential if you are to offer your potential customers the most relevant product for a successful launch.

The importance of getting to know your customer

First of all, let's talk persona.

The persona is the representation of your ideal customer. In any marketing approach, it's important to keep this persona in mind in order to remain relevant, save you time and, above all, guide you in your future actions, whether it's product development, content creation, choice of communication media, etc. But why be so customer-focused? Quite simply because the customer is your reason for existing: without a good customer, there can be no business, and marketing is certainly sometimes a little intuitive, but above all it's about addressing your customer in a convincing but fair way. So taking a little time to get to know each other doesn't seem completely pointless!

Defining your persona involves creating a typical character by drawing up a sort of identity card (what is their age? their gender? where do they live? what is their family situation?), but above all by identifying their lifestyle as precisely as possible. To do this, you need to be able to answer the following questions:

✔️ What type of job does he/she do? What is their socio-professional category?
✔️ What are their habits? What is his lifestyle?
✔️ What are their beliefs? Their values?
✔️ What media do they use for information and entertainment?
... and any other point related to your sector of activity that you consider relevant.

Some sites can help you build your persona and also provide file templates to keep this information safe: XtensioHubspot or even WeLoveUsers.

The development process in 4 stages

Product development can come about either because you need to expand your offering or because you see an opportunity that you don't want to miss. In both cases - apart from the idea generation stage - the development process will be much the same.

1. Generate ideas, then skim them

It can take a long time to come up with a relevant idea for a new offer, so it's best to work on this stage before you even need it.

👉 Stay on standby all the time

The best way to generate new ideas is to keep a daily watch on both your business sector and related sectors: follow what your direct and indirect competitors are doing, monitor developments and trends in your market both at home and abroad, keep abreast of advances and new developments in technology, the environment, politics, etc. As well as helping you to come up with new ideas, this is how you will gain a better understanding of your market.

👉 Analyse what your consumers are saying

As always, we think in terms of customers and consumers, and we include them directly in the loop because it is they who will tell you the most about their expectations and needs. Read the messages they send you carefully, but above all take a look at the forums and pay attention to the comments they make on social networks, because that's where their remarks will be the most sincere and free.

👉 Brainstorm as a team

Talk to your colleagues and friends to share your ideas and exchange views, both to help you generate as many ideas as possible but also to sort them out and keep only a short list.

Skimming should enable you to concentrate only on ideas with a certain potential. To do this, analyse these ideas according to various criteria:

✔️ The desirability of your idea for your persona
✔️ Its market potential: how mature is the market? Is it flooded (if so, it will be harder to get a foothold)?
✔️ The relevance of the idea for your company (complements your current offering? in line with your DNA?...)
✔️ Its feasibility, whether for legal or technical reasons, for example. If your idea involves entering a new market, be sure to study its key success factors to find out whether you have all the knowledge and skills required in-house, or whether you will need to recruit or subcontract.

This is a very important step, because if it's done properly, you'll be able to concentrate solely on ideas that are potentially interesting to your customers, and therefore avoid investing unnecessary time and money.

2. Turn your ideas into concepts

Once you have identified the ideas that are most relevant to your business, you will need to refine, detail and structure them into a customer benefit (also known as a value proposition) in order to move from the simple idea stage to that of a product concept.

How do you identify and define a good value proposition?

The value proposition is the materialisation of a unique solution that you offer in response to a frustration identified in your persona. In other words, it's the answer to the following questions: what problem am I trying to solve (= the frustration)? how is my product going to provide something unique, something new? what concrete result is it going to achieve? Your value proposition can cover a number of different aspects: performance, sensory identity, technical description/composition of the product, price positioning, distribution.

Although it may seem tedious, taking the time to draw up your value proposition will enable you to know how to stand out from the crowd by differentiating yourself from the competition and therefore help you to know which assets to back up your communication.

At this stage, you will realise that, for various reasons, some ideas will be difficult to transpose into a concept and will therefore be discarded on their own. A second skimming will take place naturally.

However, if several concepts are still in the running, if you need to perfect a concept or even if your concept seems to be complete, it's worth testing it against the reality of the market, because just because you like a concept doesn't mean it will find an audience. So think about involving your current or potential customers right away by asking them about their perception of and interest in the product you are planning to create. You can gather their opinions in any way you like: focus group type studies if you can, approaching them directly in the street, in your shop if you run a boutique, for example, or using online questionnaires or even an Instagram poll. Consulting your friends and family first is also a quick and effective way of taking the temperature.

3. CREATE AND, ABOVE ALL, TEST

Once your concept has been validated, it's time to move on to the prototype stage. As well as materialising the concept, this stage allows you to check its technical and financial feasibility. Don't hesitate to develop several versions of the same product to determine the best version, but above all present them to your target consumers so that you don't get off on the wrong track, even if your prototype isn't completely finished. This may enable you to identify any obstacles or objections that you hadn't previously identified, and to remedy them before going into large-scale production, thereby saving time and money!

When it comes to testing your product, a large-scale study is always more interesting, as it will provide you with representative and comprehensive feedback. However, if your financial resources don't allow it, the test options mentioned above are also applicable here and will once again provide you with valuable information.

4. Take the plunge

Finally, once all the stages have been validated, it's time to launch. Of course, you can never be sure of failure, but by taking the time to ask yourself the right questions and to test beforehand, you will have put all the chances on your side for a successful product launch. And don't forget that you will always be able to make improvements at a later stage.

Comment créer son logo ? Part2

De nouveau bienvenue pour la seconde partie de l’article « Comment créer un logo ». Si vous n’avez pas lu la première partie vous la trouverez ici

Voici donc un approfondissement de ce premier article. Vous allez en apprendre plus sur les types de typographies et les émotions.

QUELLE SONT LES SIGNIFICATIONS DES DIFFÉRENTES TYPOGRAPHIES ?

Comme dit Wikipédiala typographie correspond aux différents procédés de composition et d’impression utilisant des caractères et des formes en relief, ainsi que l’art d’utiliser les différents types de caractères dans le but de rendre le langage lisible, attrayant et intelligible. En effet ce sont 3 des principaux éléments que nous prenons en compte pendant nos réunions avec nos clients.

Tout d’abord, cette image vous permettra de comprendre ce qui différencie les typos les unes des autres :

Pour autant je vous rassure il n’est pas nécessaire que vous connaissiez tous ces mots techniques en détail, je sais que vous n’avez pas le temps ! Je vous propose donc de lire la suite qui s’intéresse plus à l’aspect psychologique de chaque type de typo.

Chaque police de charactère ne se jumèle pas avec n’importe quelle autre. Avoir une bonne combinaison vous permettra de créer de la profondeur dans votre identité (cette règle s’applique également à tout vos supports de présentation et designs, remerciez moi plus tard pour l’astuce). Vous trouverez juste là un lien vers un très bon site qui vous épargnera les fautes de gout. Vous aurez aussi besoin de ce site internet qui permet de télécharger vos typos préférées.

L’IMPORTANCE DES ÉMOTIONS

Après avoir choisi vos couleurs, formes et typo vous commencerez à obtenir une bonne première vision de votre futur logo. Cependant, si vous vous arrêtez ici vous raterez probablement la meilleure partie : les émotions. De nos jours nous n’achetons plus les produits comme nous le faisions avant. Les clients sont à la recherche (de manière inconsciente) d’une relation avec la marque. Ils n’achètent plus le produit seulement pour ses caractéristiques mais aussi pour ce que représente et véhicule la marque.

C’est pourquoi vous devez d’autant plus vous concentrer sur votre logo. Essayez de jouer sur une de ces 6 émotions reconnues comme les plus fortes par les spécialistes : la joie, la fierté, la confiance, la curiosité, la peur et la culpabilité.

Par exemple :

Desigual grande marque de prêt à porter a su créer un logo qui selon nous, représente très bien plusieurs de ces émotions. Grâce aux formes très organiques qui semblent former une explosion de couleurs, Desigual souhaite attiser la curiosité des clients. Ces mêmes couleurs, par leur clarté, invitent de tout évidence au sentiment de joie, au sentiment de fête.

Enfin la typographie qui s’inverse par moment montre que Desigual n’hésite pas à aller à contrecourant et impose son sentiment de fierté avec un typo très grasse. On voit ici, dans ce très bon exemple, que tous ces éléments forment un ensemble cohérent et qui correspond tout à fait à la marque.

VOTRE LOGO EST TERMINÉ !

Il est maintenant temps d’apprécier votre logo et de l’afficher partout. Mais n’oubliez pas que le temps file ! Vous vous devez d’être flexible lorsque vous êtes confronté à un environnement en constant changement. Comme expliqué dans l’article précédent (#1) la signification des couleurs, des formes et des typos peuvent changer du jour au lendemain en fonction des évènements. N’hésitez pas à changer/moderniser votre logo lorsque vous sentez qu’il en est temps. Ne soyez pas frileux ! Vos clients serons surpris dans le bon sens et parlerons de vous pendant la pause café ! Il est bon et positif pour eux de voir que votre business évolue et suis les tendances. Faîtes évoluer votre logo en bonne intelligence, suivez votre stratégie déjà mise en place et rester en accord avec votre image de marque et vos valeurs.

Par exemple :

Paypal qui propose des moyens de paiement en ligne, n’a pas seulement fait évoluer son logo selon son environnement et selon les tendances actuelles mais aussi en fonction de sa propre histoire. En effet, en 1999 seulement très peu de personne utilisait ce service. Internet n’avait que deux années d’existence, on voit donc qu’au fur et à mesure que l’entreprise à pris en importance, elle à aussi gagner en confiance dans sa façon d’aborder son logo, les lettres sont pleines, les couleurs plus franches et l’ensemble plus adapté à une entreprise leader.

Retour au blog

Comment créer son logo ? Part1

Bonjour chers lecteurs !

Aujourd’hui je vous révèle tous les secrets de la fabrication d’un logo. C’est une mission de la plus haute précision et le résultat final doit être parfait ! C’est pourquoi tous les aspects doivent être réfléchis au préalable. En passant par le choix des couleurs, des formes et de l’émotion souhaitée. Nous terminerons par un podcast à ce sujet. Sophie Bodineau, fondatrice et graphiste pour What’zhat design Agency, analysera pour nous 3 logos.

Maintenant passons au véritable sujet.

LA SIGNIFICATION DES COULEURS

La couleur est ce qui est remarquée en premier, elle sera connectée à votre marque et visible sur tous vos supports de communication.

Chacun couleur a une signification, une connection inconsciente dans l’esprit des personnes (notamment dans les pays occidentaux). C’est pourquoi il est très important de réfléchir aux mots clefs de votre entreprises.

– Le rouge représente les paradoxes, l’amour/la colère, la bravoure/le danger, le zèle/l’interdiction

– Le vert représente le renouveau, la croissance, l’espoir, la nature et la chance

– Le jaune représente la lumière, l’égo, le savoir, l’amitié et la joie

– Le bleu représente la sécurité, la stabilité, la loyauté, la sagesse, la confiance et la science

– Le rose représente la tendresse, le romantisme, la féminité et la beauté

– L’orange représente la communication, le dynamisme, l’enthousiasme et le fun

– Le noir représente la puissance, le mystère, l’élégance, la simplicité et le rigueur

Attention ! Chaque association psychologique à propos des couleurs peut rapidement changer en fonction des cultures, des actualités, des années, de l’histoire personnelle de chacun et des tendances.

Pour plus d’info n’hésitez pas à consulter ces sites : code-couleur.com et Pantone.

LA SIGNIFICATION DES FORMES

Si vous utilisez des formes dans votre logo (parfois les marques utilisent seulement une typographie) cela aura un impact sur la perception des valeurs et de l’identité de votre marque. Pour atteindre votre cible vous devez savoir reconnaitre les associations inconscientes du cerveau à propos de certaines formes.

Voici les plus courantes et leurs significations pour la plupart des individus :

– Les formes arrondies : accueillant, chaud

– Les formes carrées et rectangulaires : sérieux, stable et équilibré

– Les formes triangulaires : pouvoir, dur

– Les formes organiques : flexibilité, naturel

– Les formes en spirale : introspection, inspirant et continu

– Les lignes verticales : hiérarchie, supérieur et fort

– Les lignes horizontales : communication, calme et serein

Le conseil est d’utiliser les formes avec parcimonie, trop en faire peut compliquer la compréhension. Un bon logo est clair et lisible. Vous pouvez également créer des formes sans les ajouter réellement grâce à la technique des formes positives/négatives, quelques exemples ici.

UN MÉLANGE INTELLIGENT

Pour un logo, tout est possible, n’importe quelles formes et couleurs, cependant un graphiste gardera toujours à l’esprit le message principal de l’entreprise et ses mots clefs. Il en résulte souvent un mélange cohérent. Dans le cas où votre client souhaite absolument un triangle, avec des angles pointus, alors qu’il vend des fournitures destinées aux nouveau-nés, il est possible adoucir le tout en ajoutant un bleu très clair par exemple. Tout est une question d’équilibre.

LE PODCAST

Comme promis voici un podcast qui revient sur la théorie du choix des couleurs et des formes.

Plus, l’analyse de 3 logos, ci-dessus, créés par l’équipe What’zhat :

Back to the blog

Le Roi Lion (2019)

FILM ANIMÉ, LIVE-ACTION OU MOTION CAPTURE ?

Ces dernières années les grands classiques version 2019 de Disney nous ont émerveillé : « Dumbo » de Tim Burton, « Aladdin » toujours disponible dans certaines salles de cinéma ou encore « Le livre de la jungle » prouesse numérique. Voici comment Disney a décidé de renouveler son image : retravailler tous ces grands classiques animés en film faits sur ordinateur.

La distinction entre film animé, live-action ou motion capture se fait de plus en plus précise. Neel Sethi était par exemple le seul réel acteur dans le Livre de la jungle, il interagissait avec des animaux fait entièrement d’images de synthèse. Mais c’est avec Le Roi Lion que les studios Fairview Entertainment repoussent encore une fois les limites en proposant un film entièrement créé sur ordinateur et hyper réaliste.

Lors d’une interview Jon Favreau, producteur en chef du Roi Lion a lui-même admis ne pas savoir s’il s’agissait d’un film animé ou un « live-action », il ajoute même qu’il ne s’agit d’aucuns des deux. Il souhaitait nous offrir des images dignes d’un reportage animalier de la BBC et qui ne ressemble en rien aux effets visuels fait sur ordinateurs même si les animaux parlent et ont des comportements humains. Le trailer disponible ici :

Aucune scène du film n’a été tournée en vrai. Jon Favreau a fait des repérages au Kenya en Afrique récoltant des images de paysages naturels pour qu’ils puissent servir de source d’inspiration artistique. Une fois en boîte, ces plans tournés en prises de vues réelles ont sans doute été retouchés numériquement, afin de coller au style graphique du reste des scènes. Mais attention, il ne s’agit pas non plus d’une « performance capture » ou « motion capture ».

En effet, les acteurs et artistes recrutés ont seulement prêté leurs voix : James Earl Jones double Mufasa, Donald Glover est Simba, Beyoncé Knowles, Nala… Un grand casting qui ajoute à l’impatience des fans. De plus, aucun animal n’a été réellement filmé, l’équipe artistique et design s’est seulement inspirée de la nature pour que les animaux semblent le plus réel possible. Quelques images des coulisses disponibles ici, sous-titres Anglais disponibles :

C’est donc avec impatience que nous attendions le 19 juillet pour enfin pouvoir apprécier le résultat de tous les efforts des équipes design ! En attendant nous vous offrons 3 faits inédits à propos du dessin animé de notre enfance :

  1. Le Roi Lion devait à l’origine s’intituler « Le Roi de la jungle » jusqu’au moment où l’équipe s’est rendu compte que les lions ne vivent pas dans la jungle…
  2. Simba, Sarabi, Rafiki, et Pumbaa sont des mots swahilis. Ils signifient : lion, mirage, ami et stupide.
  3. Pour la scène de Scar et des hyènes « Soyez prêtes », Disney s’est inspiré de photos nazies. Qui l’eu cru !

Et vous, avez vous des choses inédites à propos du Roi Lion ? Écrivez-nous tout ça dans les commentaires.

Développement produit : Quelles sont les étapes clés

Concevoir un nouveau produit c’est bien, mais bien le concevoir c’est encore mieux ! C’est pourquoi, prendre le temps de construire son nouveau produit est essentiel pour proposer à vos clients potentiels l’offre la plus pertinente qu’il soit pour que le lancement soit réussi.

L’importance de bien connaitre son client

Avant toute chose, parlons persona.

Le persona est la représentation de votre client idéal. Dans toute démarche marketing, il est important de garder en tête qui il est pour rester pertinent, vous faire gagner du temps mais surtout pour vous guider dans vos actions futures, qu’il s’agisse de développement produit, de création de contenu, de choix de supports de communication… Mais pourquoi être autant orienté vers mon client ? Tout simplement car il est votre raison d’exister : sans client au rendez-vous il n’y a pas de business possible, et que le marketing c’est certes parfois un peu d’intuition mais c’est surtout et avant tout s’adresser de manière convaincante mais juste à son client. Alors prendre un peu de temps pour faire connaissance ne semble pas complètement inutile !

La définition de son persona consiste à créer un personnage type en établissant une sorte de carte d’identité (quel est son âge ? son sexe ? son lieu de vie ? sa situation familiale ?), mais surtout en identifiant le plus précisément possible son mode de vie. Pour cela vous devez pouvoir répondre aux questions suivantes :

✔️ Quel type de métier fait-il ? Quelle est sa catégorie socio professionnelle ?
✔️ Quelles sont ses habitudes ? Quel est son style de vie ?
✔️ Quelles sont ses croyances ? ses valeurs ?
✔️ Quels supports de communication utilise-t-il pour s’informer ou se divertir ?
… et tout autre point lié à votre secteur d’activité que vous jugerez pertinent.

Certains sites pourront vous aider dans la construction de votre persona et vous proposent également des modèles de fichier pour conserver précieusement ces informations : XtensioHubspot ou encore WeLoveUsers.

Le processus de développement en 4 étapes

Un développement de produit peut survenir soit par besoin d’élargir votre offre, soit par identification d’une opportunité qui se présente à vous et que vous ne souhaitez pas laisser passer. Dans les deux cas – outre l’étape de génération d’idée – le processus de développement sera sensiblement le même.

1. Générez des idées, puis écrémez-les

Avant d’arriver à une idée pertinente d’une nouvelle offre, le chemin peut être long alors mieux vaut travailler cette étape avant même d’en avoir besoin.

👉 Restez constamment en veille

Le meilleur moyen pour engendrer de nouvelles idées est de rester quotidiennement en veille à la fois sur votre secteur d’activité mais également sur les secteurs annexes : suivre ce que font vos concurrents directs et indirects, suivre l’évolution et les tendances de votre marché à la fois dans votre pays et à l’étranger, être au fait des avancées et des nouveautés technologiques, environnementales, politiques… Outre le fait de vous aider à trouver de nouvelles idées, c’est comme cela que vous comprendrez mieux votre marché.

👉 Analysez ce que disent vos consommateurs

Comme toujours on pense client et consommateur et on les intègre directement dans la boucle car ce sont eux qui vous en apprendront le plus sur leurs attentes ou besoins. Lisez attentivement les messages qu’ils vous envoient, mais surtout allez faire un tour sur les forums et prêtez attention aux commentaires qu’ils font sur les réseaux sociaux car c’est là que leurs remarques seront les plus sincères et libérées.

👉 Brainstormez en équipe

Discutez avec vos collaborateurs et vos proches pour partager vos idées et échanger vos points de vue pour à la fois vous aider à générer un maximum d’idées mais aussi pour les trier et n’en conserver qu’une liste restreinte.

L’écrémage doit vous permettre de vous concentrer uniquement sur les idées avec un certain potentiel. Pour cela, analysez ces idées selon différents critères :

✔️ Le pouvoir de désirabilité de votre idée sur votre persona
✔️ Son potentiel d’un point de vue marché : quel est le stade de maturité du marché ? est-il inondé (si c’est le cas, il sera plus difficile de vous y faire une place) ?
✔️ La pertinence de l’idée pour votre entreprise (complémentarité de l’offre actuelle ? en lien avec votre ADN ? …)
✔️ Sa faisabilité, que ce soit pour des raisons légales ou techniques par exemple. En effet, si l’idée retenue vous amène à intégrer un nouveau marché pensez à étudier les facteurs clés de succès de celui-ci pour savoir si vous possédez toutes les connaissances et compétences requises en interne, ou si le recours à un recrutement ou à un sous-traitant sera nécessaire.

Il s’agit d’une étape non négligeable car bien réalisée elle vous permettra de vous concentrer uniquement sur des idées potentiellement intéressantes pour votre clientèle et donc de ne pas investir inutilement en temps et en argent.

2. Transformez vos idées en concepts

Lorsque vous avez identifié les idées les plus pertinentes pour votre entreprise, vous allez devoir les affiner, les détailler et les structurer pour en sortir un bénéfice client (appelé également proposition de valeur) afin de passer de l’étape de simple idée à un celle d’un concept produit.

Comment identifier et définir une bonne proposition de valeur ?

La proposition de valeur c’est la concrétisation d’une solution unique que vous apportez pour répondre à une frustration identifiée chez votre persona. En d’autres mots c’est la réponse aux questions suivantes : quel problème dois-je essayer de résoudre (= la frustration) ? en quoi mon produit va-t-il apporter quelque chose d’unique, de nouveau ? quel résultat concret va-t-il permettre d’atteindre ? Votre proposition de valeur peut porter sur différents aspects : la performance, l’identité sensorielle, la description technique / la composition du produit, le positionnement prix, la distribution.

Bien que cela puisse sembler fastidieux, prendre le temps de rédiger votre proposition de valeur vous permettra de savoir comment sortir du lot en vous différenciant de la concurrence et donc de vous aider à savoir sur quels atouts appuyer votre communication.

A ce stade, vous vous rendrez compte que pour des raisons diverses certaines idées seront difficilement transposables en concept et qu’elles vont donc s’écarter d’elles-mêmes. C’est un second écrémage qui se fera naturellement.

Si plusieurs concepts restent cependant dans la course, si vous avez besoins de parfaire un concept ou même si votre concept semble abouti, il est intéressant de le(s) confronter à la réalité du marché car ce n’est pas parce qu’un concept vous plait qu’il trouvera son public. Pensez donc à faire participer dès à présent vos clients actuels ou potentiels en les interrogeant sur leur perception et intérêt quant au produit que vous projetez de créer.  Pour récolter leurs avis tous les moyens sont bons : les études type focus group si cela vous est possible, les aborder directement dans la rue, dans votre commerce si vous tenez une boutique par exemple ou alors via des outils de questionnaire en ligne ou même avec un sondage Instagram. Consulter vos proches dans un premier temps est aussi une solution rapide et efficace pour prendre la température.

3. CRÉEZ ET SURTOUT, TESTEZ

Une fois votre concept validé, il est temps de passer à l’élaboration du prototype. En plus d’avoir pour but de matérialiser le concept, cette étape vous permet de vérifier sa faisabilité technique et financière. N’hésitez pas à élaborer plusieurs versions d’un même produit pour déterminer la meilleure version, mais surtout présentez les à vos consommateurs cibles afin de ne pas avancer sur une fausse piste et ce même si votre prototype n’est pas complètement abouti. Cela vous permettra peut-être d’identifier d’éventuels freins et objections que vous n’aviez pas identifiés précédemment et d’y remédier en amont d’une production à grande échelle et ainsi de gagner du temps et de l’argent !

Pour faire tester votre produit une étude de grande ampleur est toujours plus intéressante car elle vous assurera des retours représentatifs et complets. Néanmoins, si vos moyens financiers ne le permettent pas les options de test citées précédemment sont applicables ici aussi et vous apporteront encore une fois des informations précieuses.

4. Faites le grand saut

Enfin, une fois toutes les étapes validées il est temps de se lancer. Bien sûr on n’est jamais à l’abri d’un échec, mais en ayant pris le temps de vous poser les bonnes questions, de tester en amont vous aurez mis toutes les chances de votre côté pour réussir ce lancement de produits et gardez surtout à l’esprit que vous serez toujours à même d’y apporter des optimisations dans un second temps.